

Geosciences

Platform of the Swiss Academy of Sciences Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics ACP

Award in Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics

1. Award

- The Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics Award is granted by the Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics Commission (ACP) of the Swiss Academy of Sciences (sc|nat⁺) to recognize outstanding contributions to the atmospheric sciences.
- The Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics award is annually attributed to a young scientist for outstanding achievements during his/her MSc or PhD thesis or another research project in the domain of atmospheric chemistry and physics. Achievements of practical relevance are also eligible. The work should have been performed at a Swiss institution.
- The award consists of a certificate, a citation and a donation of CHF 1000.
- The award will be conferred by the Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics Commission (ACP) at the ACP Symposium during the Annual Swiss Geoscience Meeting of the sc|nat⁺.
- The award includes an invited special lecture on the occasion of the ACP Symposium during the Annual Swiss Geoscience Meeting.

2. Nomination

- Nominations of candidates for the award are solicited by announcement on the ACP website (http://acp.scnat.ch/) and other media (e.g. Geoscience ACTUEL, ProClim Flash).
- Applications forms should be sent in before 31 August of each year to the secretariat of the Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics Commission (ACP): isabella.geissbuehler@giub.unibe.ch.
- Self applications and nominations by third persons are possible.

3. Selection

- The award committee will consist of three members. They are appointed by the ACP commission for the duration of 3 years. The committee will review all applications in a closed session. It may ask for external reviews. It will forward a list of at least 3 candidates, including a priority list to the ACP commission from which the latter will select the awardee.
- The ACP commission has the discretionary power to not select an awardee in any given period.

4. Members of the Award Committee

Brigitte Buchmann (chair), Urs Baltensperger, Christof Ammann