Mohamed H.A. HASSAN President, Sudanese National Academy of Science (SNAS), Sudan

Mohamed H A Hassan is President of the Sudanese National Academy of Sciences (SNAS), Sudan; Chairman of the Governing Council of the United Nations Technology Bank for the Least Developed Countries, Turkey and Chairman of the International Advisory Board of the Centre for International Development (ZEF), Germany.

He also serves on a number of Boards of international organizations worldwide, including the Board of Directors of Grand Challenges Canada (GCC), the Board of Trustees of Bibliotheca Alexandrina, Egypt; the Council of Science and Technology in Society (STS) Forum, Japan.

He was President of the InterAcademy Partnership (IAP); founding Executive Director of the World Academy of Sciences (TWAS); President of the African Academy of Sciences (AAS); founding President of the Network of African Science Academies (NASAC); Chairman of the Council of the United Nations University (UNU); and Chairman of the Honorary Presidential Advisory Council for Science and Technology, Nigeria.

After obtaining his DPhil in Mathematics from the University of Oxford he returned to Sudan as Lecturer in the University of Khartoum, and later became Professor and Dean of the School of Mathematical Sciences. He has a long list of publications in Theoretical Plasma Physics and Fusion Energy; Wind Erosion, Dust and Sand Transport in Dry Lands. He also published several articles on STI in the Developing World

Among his honours: Comendator, Grand Cross, and National Order of Scientific Merit, Brazil; and Officer, Order of Merit of the Italian Republic. He is a recipient of the G77 Leadership Award and the Abdus Salam Medal for Science and Technology

He is a member of several merit-based academies of science, including, TWAS; the African Academy of Sciences; the Islamic World Academy of Sciences; Academia Colombiana de Ciencias Exactas, Físicas y Naturales; Académie Royale des Sciences, Belgium; Pakistan Academy of Sciences; Academy of Sciences of Lebanon; Cuban Academy of Sciences; academy of Sciences of South Africa and the Pontifical Academy of Sciences

.