

2020 Chemistry Travel Award by SCNAT and SCS

Caroline Reymond*

*Correspondence: C. Reymond, E-mail: chemistry@scnat.ch: Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT), Platform Chemistry, Laupenstrasse 7, CH-3001 Bern

The Platform Chemistry of the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT) together with the Swiss Chemical Society (SCS) announces the «2020 Chemistry Travel Award». This program supports excellent PhD students in chemical sciences by sponsoring them to participate in an international conference. Students from all fields of chemistry and from any Swiss institution were invited to participate. The selection committee is set up with four chemists working in diverse fields of chemistry: Prof. Dr. Christian Bochet (SCS, University of Fribourg), Prof. Dr. Catherine E. Housecroft (SCNAT, University of Basel), Dr. Marc Suter (SCS, Eawag), and Prof. Dr. Shana Sturla (SCNAT, ETH Zürich). They each reviewed and rated all of the applications (except their own students'), based primarily on the submitted conference abstract and the scientific achievements.

On behalf of SCNAT and SCS we hereby congratulate this year's winners and wish them a very successful conference participation.

We proudly present the winners of the «2020 Chemistry Travel Award»:



Ahmed ELABD Group: Prof. Ali Coskun Conference: PRiME 2020 Contribution: Covalent Triazine Frameworks Incorporating Charged Polypyrrole Channels for High Performance Lithium-Sulfur **Batteries**



Michelle FREI Group: Prof. Kai Johnsson Conference: MAF2020 Methods and Applications in Fluorescence Contribution: Increasing fluorophore brightness through self-labeling protein tags



Susanne GEISEN Group: Prof. Shana Sturla Conference: ACS Fall 2020 National Meeting Contribution: Chemical mechanism of O6carboxymethyldeoxyguanine formation from azaserine and abundance in cells



Dalu CHANG Group: Prof. Nicolas Winssinger Conference: EMBO Chemical Biology 2020 Contribution: Luciferase-Induced Photouncaging: Bioluminolysis



Faustine d'ORCHYMONT Group: Prof. Jason Holland Conference: Pacifichem 2020 Contribution: Supramolecular radiopharmaceuticals for multi-modality imaging of cancer



Romain J.-C. DUBEY Group: Prof. Maksym V. Kovalenko Conference: 2020 MRS Fall Meeting Contribution: Silicon Oxycarbide as a Host Matrix of Choice to Stabilize Li-Ion Storage in Nanosized Alloying Elements







Vladimir GORBACHEV Group: Prof. Peter Chen Conference: Gordon Research Conference: "Gaseous Ions: Structures, Energetics and Reactions"

Contribution: Cryogenic ion vibrational predissociation (CIVP) spectroscopy of a gas-phase molecular torsion balance to probe London dispersion forces in large molecules

Yannick GUNTERN Group: Prof. Raffaella Buonsanti Conference: ACS Fall 2020 National Meeting Contribution: Synthetic route for colloidal nanocrystal/covalent organic framework hybrids

Ilia KOCHETYGOV

Group: Prof. Wendy Queen Conference: Nanomaterials for Applications in Energy Technology Contribution: Dimensionality control and rational design of novel nanoporous metalorganic frameworks



Miriam **LINSENMEIER** Group: Prof. Paolo Arosio Conference: Cell Symposia: Biological Assemblies: Phase Transitions and More Contribution: Droplet-based microfluidic platforms to investigate the kinetics and thermodynamics of phase transitions



Jade NGUYEN Group: Prof. Pablo Rivera-Fuentes Conference: Pacifichem 2020 Contribution: Disruption of Redox Homeostasis by Enzymatic Activation of a Triakylphosphine Probe in Mitochondria



Margarita **REKHTINA** Group: Prof. Christoph Müller Conference: 2020 MRS Fall Meeting and Exhibit Contribution: Elucidating the factors governing the cyclic performance of MgObased sorbents of CO_2 using time-resolved in situ XRD/PDF techniques



Abdusalom **SULEYMANOV** Group: Prof. Kay Severin Conference: Pacifichem 2020 Contribution: Synthesis of Tetraarylethene Luminogens by C-H Vinylation of Arenes with Triazenes



Jin Fay **TAN** Group: Prof. Nicolai Cramer Conference Pacifichem 2020 Contribution: Highly Divergent Access to Densely Substituted Arenes, Pyridines and Pyridones via Transition Metal-Catalyzed Transformations of Alkynyl Triazenes



Zacharias **THIEL** Group: Prof. Pablo Rivera-Fuentes Conference: Pacifichem 2020 Contribution: Single-Molecule Imaging of Active Enzymes in Live Cells Using Photo-Crosslinking Probes



Matthias **TINZL** Group: Prof. Donald Hilvert Conference: Girona Seminar 2020 Contribution: Enhancing catalysis of iron heme metalloproteins using non-canonical amino acids



Ming-Ming **WANG** Group: Prof. Jerome WASER Conference: ICOS 2020: XXIII International Conference on Organic Synthesis Contribution: Oxidative Ring-opening Fluorination of Cyclopropylamides



Yanan **WANG** Group: Prof. Thomas Buergi Conference: The 20th incarnation of the International Symposium on Small Particles & Inorganic Clusters Contribution: Deracemization of Au38 Clusters: Breaking the Equal Status and Dynamic Inversion of Enantiomers



Rebekah WELLS Group: Prof. Kevin Sivula Conference: PRiME 2020 Contribution: The roll-to-roll deposition of 2D nanoflake films of semiconducting TMDs for large area solar-to-chemical energy conversion



Prerna **YADAV** Group: Prof. Felix Zelder Conference: EUROBIC 15 Contribution: Disassembly Approach for the Selective and Sensitive Detection of Pyrophosphate



Xiangli **YI** Group: Prof. Xile Hu Conference: ICOS 2020: XXIII International Conference on Organic Synthesis Contribution: Cu-involved electrocatalysis and photocatalysis for the synthesis of allyamine derivatives from unactivated alkenes

Due to the pandemic situation taking place this year worldwide, some conferences are being cancelled, postponed or switched into a virtual event. The attendance of the winners to the conferences may change from the present list.

Additional information about the Platform Chemistry and its activities may be found at *chemistry.scnat.ch*

Do not miss the «2021 Chemistry Travel Award», which will be announced early in 2021 on *chemistry.scnat.ch/travel_award* and in *Chimia*.