doi:10.2533/chimia.2021.695

Chimia 75 (2021) 695 © Swiss Chemical Society



2021 Chemistry Travel Award by SCNAT and SCS

Leo Merz*

*Correspondence: Dr. L. Merz, E- mail: chemistry@scnat.ch Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT), Platform Chemistry, Laupenstrasse 7, CH-3001 Bern

The Platform Chemistry of the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT) together with the Swiss Chemical Society (SCS) announces the «2021 Chemistry Travel Award». This program supports excellent PhD students in the chemical sciences by sponsoring them to participate in an international conference. After most conferences have been cancelled or virtualized, the organizers of the Travel Award expanded the program with a new alternative. This second option offers support to visit a foreign lab for a short research project abroad. Students from all fields of chemistry and from any Swiss institution were invited to participate. The selection committee consists of four chemists working in diverse fields of chemistry: Prof. Dr. Christian Bochet (SCS, University of Fribourg), Dr. Remo Gamboni (SCS, NANDASI Pharma Advisors), Prof. Dr. Laura Nyström (SCNAT, ETH Zurich), and Prof. Dr. Shana Sturla (SCNAT, ETH Zurich). They each reviewed and rated all of the applications of both categories, based primarily on the submitted conference abstract or project plan.

On behalf of SCNAT and SCS we hereby congratulate this year's winners and wish them a very successful conference participation or research stay.

We proudly present the winners of the «2021 Chemistry Travel Award»:

Conference Participation



Qinlei LIU

Group: Prof. Renato Zenobi Conference: 69th ASMS Conference on Mass Spectrometry and Allied Topics Contribution: High-throughput singlecell metabolomics using dielectric barrier discharge ionization - high resolution mass spectrometry



Hanna TRAEGER Group: Prof. Christoph Weder Conference: ACS Spring Meeting: Bonding Through Chemistry Contribution: Loop structures as non-covalent mechanochromic motifs



J. Madhusudhan NAIK Group: Prof. Greta R. Patzke Conference: 2021 MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit Contribution: Reversible phase transitions

in novel Ce-substituted perovskite oxide composites for solar thermochemical CO₂ redox splitting





Group: Prof. Maksym Kovalenko Conference: MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit Contribution: Hybrid 0D Antimony Halides as Air-Stable Luminophores for High-Spatial-**Resolution Remote Thermography**

Sophia THIELE

Group: Prof. Harm-Anton Klok Conference: Pacifichem 2021 Contribution: Shining light on surfaceinitiated organocatalyzed atom transfer radical polymerization



Jyoti DHANKHAR Group: Prof. Ilija Čorić Conference: International Symposium on Synthesis and Catalysis 2021 (ISySyCat2021) Contribution: Spatial Anion Control on Palladium for Mild C-H Arylation of Arenes

Alexandre ANTHIS

Group: Prof. Inge Herrmann Conference: Materials Research Society (MRS) - Fall Meeting 2021 Contribution: Leak-tight anastomosis hydrogel sealants using mutually interpenetrating networks

Maximilian **BECKER**

Group: Prof. Corsin Battaglia Conference: 240th ECS Meeting Contribution: The Hydrotropic Effect of Ionic Liquids in Water-in-Salt Electrolytes

Marie **BISCHOFF**

Group: Prof. Arianna Marchioro Conference: Electrochemistry Gordon Research Conference and Seminar Contribution: Ion specificity at the aqueous electrolyte/nanoparticle interface

Michèle CLERC Group: Dr. Luciano Boesel Conference: Macromolecular Colloquium 2022

Contribution: Visible-light responsive on-demand drug-delivery systems using Donor-Acceptor Stenhouse Adduct (DASA) photoswitches





Lab Visit

Adam **EÖRDÖGH** Group: Prof. Pablo Rivera-Fuentes

Moritz BERNHARDT

Molecule Magnets

Scott DOCHERTY

of CO, to Methanol

Group: Prof. Christophe Copéret

Group: Prof. Christophe Copéret

Host: Prof. Olivier Cador, Uni Rennes, FR

Project: Lanthanide Sandwich Complexes

used for Surface Immobilized Single-

Conference: Pacifichem 2021 Contribution: Single-Molecule Imaging with Environment-sensitive Photoactivatable Probes



Jimmy MAILLARD

Group: Prof. Alexandre Fürstenberg Host: Prof. Mike Heilemann, Goethe Uni, Frankfurt a. M., D Project: Fluorescence labelling of the G protein-coupled receptor CCR5 for singlemolecule applications using CRISPR/Cas12 gene editing technology

Kaila **YALLUM** Group: Prof. Natalie Banerji Host: Prof. Carlos Silva, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, USA Project: Two Dimensional Coherent Photocurrent Spectroscopy of Non-Fullerene Acceptors



Devi Prasad **ADIYERI SASEENDRAN** Group: Prof. Greta R. Patzke Host: Prof. Serena DeBeer, Max-Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion, Mülheim, D Project: Understanding Hybrid Molecular Photoanodes using Operando X-ray Emission Spectroscopy

-

Michal **SWIERCZEWSKI** Group: Prof. Thomas Bürgi Host: Prof. Lay-Theng Lee, CEA-Saclay L'Université Paris-Saclay, FR Project: X-ray reflectivity structural study of gold nanocluster ultrathin films prepared

using Langmuir-Blodgett technique

Host: Prof. Atsushi Urakawa, TU Delft, NL

Project: Molecular Approaches for the Study

of Bimetallic Catalysts in the Hydrogenation



Jasper MÖHLER

Group: Prof. Helma Wennemers Host: Prof. Wolfgang Kroutil, Uni of Graz, AT Project: Development of cascade reactions employing enzyme and peptide catalysts in a single chemical reaction vessel Depending on the state of the pandemic, the attendance of the winners to the conferences may change from this list. The rules regarding these changes have been published on the web page of the Platform Chemistry.

Additional information about the Platform Chemistry and its activities may be found at chem.scnat.ch

Do not miss the «2022 Chemistry Travel Award», which will be announced early in 2022 on chem.scnat.ch/travel_award and in CHIMIA.